Blogging our future

A timely post from ACRLog this week on the future and/or relevance of blogging, particularly in libraryland.

One of the questions posed to our Emerging Leaders team when we took on this project to write posts for ACRLog and ACRL Insider, was whether blogs were still relevant. Based on my habits, which include subscribing to over 60 blogs through Google Reader, my initial gut reaction was “of course!”

I must admit I hadn’t really thought too much about it before becoming involved in the extravaganza that is #blogeverydayofjune.  I have my favourite blogs (many, many more now) feed into my Outlook RSS reader – and they are a mix of personal and professional interests, although mostly professional.  In one of her posts during June, Penny remarked that

Blogs in general seem to be winding down in favour of micro-blogging.

During #blogeverydayofjune this statement can’t be held to be true – but I accept the qualifier in the words ‘in general’ and it may very well be true.  Many of us have blogged or commented on our use of blogging, twitter and other social media during this month, so I won’t labour that point.

I thought I might use the opportunity to list a few of my favourite blogs.  For fun, I follow 52 Suburbs, a fabulous photo-essay blog about ordinary places around Sydney and The Destitute Gourmet for all things foodie.  For interesting bits that may be useful to me as a semi-academic librarian, I love Prof Hacker.  For a slightly quirky view on (mostly) librarianship I drop in on the World’s Strongest Librarian and as I can’t live without their podcasts, the team from Adventures in Library Instruction also get visits from me.  I am also a devotee of KG Schneiders Free Range Librarian and have just discovered Meredith Farkas’ Information Wants to be Free.

That’s without counting all my fellow June bloggers of course!  To close with another quote from Miriam Rigby’s ACRLog post:

But what kind of a librarian would I be if I just told you my thoughts and didn’t invoke some Web 2.0 participation via blog comments? So, you obviously read some blogs – you are here reading this. But how many blogs do you tend to read? What are your favorites? And do you go directly to the blogs’ webpages, or do you import them via RSS to a reader? And do you think blogs are relevant, or do you know of some newer, cutting edge method of keeping up to date with news and internet memes?

image: thinking digital podium by karl karl via flickr
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

