Zombies here, zombies there…

Over the weekend I listened to the May instalment (ok, so I’m a bit behind) from the crew at Adventures in Library Instruction.  If you haven’t heard this podcast and you are in anyway involved in information literacy training and/or instruction it’s worth at least having a peep (or hearing a peep if you want to be really technical).

As a learning tool, podcasts appeal to me for several reasons.  I like audio and can engage in it more easily than reading (witness my raving about audiobooks), I can listen to it in the car which is good use of time that is otherwise dead to me and I get a sense of the personalities and people behind the information.  I’ve been listening to ALI pretty faithfully since they started (well, since I read about it in PD Postings anyway – but I have heard all podcasts up to and including May this year now) and feel I’ve not only learned a lot but have had good insight into how other people do their jobs and WHAT they do for their jobs.  This is particularly important for me as an OPL.

So why zombies? The May edition of ALI featured 2 librarians from the University of Florida who had organised library involvement in a campus wide zombie themed alternate reality game (ARG) and developed a libguide to zombies as a way of tapping into what the students were interested in but also getting some library and information literacy instruction into them as well.  Have a look at this video the library produced as part of their involvement in the week long ARG:

It was a great episode of the podcast and this post doesn’t go even close to doing justice to the level of detail and involvement that went into this. While I can’t do anything like that here at MPOW (University of Florida has about 50,000 students and we have about 300!), the take home point for me was tapping into student culture – whatever that may be in your neck of the woods.

image: How to survive a zombie attack by Hryck via flickr
6 responses

  1. That’s wonderful. I just wanted to join in! In a way it’s the same philosophy I use in my writing. When adults ask me how I know what to write for kids I say I immerse myself in their culture – their movies, their music, their trends, thier video games – and somewhere something touches a chord – and that’s when the writing begins.

    1. Thanks Sandy! I love getting comments on my posts 🙂

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sandy Fussell, Clare McKenzie. Clare McKenzie said: Today's a blogging day – Zombies here: http://bit.ly/9puCgO […]

  3. *adds blog to feeds* Thanks!

    1. *blush* how lovely to be on someone’s feed!

  4. […] hadn’t played it before and it’s quite addictive!  I’ve been reading a bit about zombies lately, so the timing was […]

Leave a Reply

