The gentle art of invigilation

Writing Exams from ccarlstead via flickr CC

Sounds painful doesn’t it? Here at MPOW we often get called on to do ‘stuff’ that you don’t do in bigger workplaces.

Today, I co-supervised an exam.  I kind of enjoy being an invigilator (it sounds so much more probing than ‘librarian’ don’t you think?), although I am glad I don’t have to do it full time. Every now and then, as required here at MPOW is OK though and makes a nice break from the normal routine.

It reminds me of my time as a student (and I’m a new grad let’s not forget, so that time isn’t so far behind me) sitting in exams.  Now  it’s never occurred to me to cheat in an exam, so I’ve never had cause to have a twinge of guilt when the invigilator stops by my desk and has a good look at what I’m doing – but that doesn’t mean I haven’t felt that twinge of emotion-that’s-probably-not-guilt-because-I’ve-not-done-anything-wrong.

Kind of funny being on the other side of that equation and watching the students’ body language as I walk up and down the aisles, or scan the room from the corner.

One response

  1. While I was doing my last course via Distance Ed through CSU, I had the same invigliator at the local exam centre (ACU Aquinas). She was lovely and would hand out minties and lollies 🙂

Leave a Reply

