Value added information – in the beginning

Carcassonne cite by lorentey via flickr CC

This semester, in my quest for a postgraduate qualification, I’m doing a subject called Value Added Information Services. Turns out this more or less covers what we do all day every day as LIS professionals, but with a slight twist towards a kind of business advisory service.

Anyway, I’ve chosen to look at the feasibility of setting up a particular kind of holiday business in the south of France. This may be because I constantly have plans to actually visit the south of France – but the lecturer did suggest we choose a topic we are actually interested in as we’re more likely to remain focussed. I am pretty sure there’s enough angles to come up with plenty of information from different sources to turn into a report with some recommendations backed by decent data. I hope so anyway.

One of the things I’ve done as part of looking at marketing and gathering information is set up a Scoopit for the topic – making use of one of the countless information gathering and/or curation tools that are out there.

Watch this space for plenty of pretty pictures of stuff in the south of France. Oh, and maybe some observations about value adding.

3 responses

  1. Lol, at the exact time I read this, Gav was sitting next to me playing Carcassone on the iFone….

    I’m a big fan of linking study with passions, this could explain the large amount of food-based themes in my past assignments!

    1. In fact, I had to look over at the bookshelf – on which is sitting our game of Carcassonne – to check how to spell it! Had heard there was an app for that……

  2. There are soooooo many tools like that these days – hard to get a handle on all the ways to store and search for information.

Leave a Reply

